Appendix 2 - Letter regarding Special Measures

Rt Hon Christopher Pincher MP Minister for Housing

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government Third Floor, Fry Building 2 Marsham Street London, SW1P 4DF

Tel: 0303 444 3430 Email: christopher.pincher@communities.gov.uk

www.gov.uk/mhclg

*90*² November 2020



Rob Cotrill Chief Executive Eastbourne Borough Council 1 Grove Road Eastbourne East Sussex BN21 4TW

m m looull

Local planning authorities that may be liable for designation under section 62A of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 – decision

A strongly performing planning system is a crucial part of delivering on our commitment to increasing housing supply and local planning authorities play a key role in enabling development through an efficient planning service. We introduced the planning performance regime in order to ensure that all authorities are fairly contributing to this objective and that those requiring performance improvements can be given access to appropriate guidance and support.

In considering whether or not your authority should be designated against performance for quality of decision-making in the 2020 designation period I have considered the exceptional circumstances your authority has submitted. I have recognised the events that have triggered performance above the threshold, the actions taken to improve performance, the upward performance trajectories achieved and the plans you have put in place to ensure improvement will continue. On this basis I have decided not to designate your authority.

Whilst no further action will be taken at this time, we continue to monitor the performance of all local authorities and this decision does not preclude the potential for further action should the performance of your local authority fail to meet the required thresholds. I would strongly encourage you to continue to peer review your performance and make use of the support offered by the Planning Advisory Service.

Should you have any questions arising from this letter, please contact Stephen Gee (<u>stephen.gee@communities.gov.uk</u>) or Fionnuala Wolff (<u>fionnuala.wolff@communities.gov.uk</u>).

ann Desceru

RT HON CHRISTOPHER PINCHER MP